Return to LaurenceHolbrook.com Technical Information Index

How to Remove Security from an Access 2000 DB

 

The instructions from Microsoft are two

 

1) Grant full permissions to the Users group and the Admin user account.

2) Put the Admin user back in the Admins group and remove the password from the Admin user.

 

However, the details are terribly confusing, especially to a neophyte - plus it was neglected to mention that you must have the DB opened exclusively -

__________________________________

 

Make sure user has the permissions to open exlcusive

 

Open the DB with the appropriate logon

 

Ensure that the DB is set for share level access

 

         Click on Tools|Options

         Click on the Advanced tab

         In the Default Open Mode, Click Shared

         Click OK

 

To open exclusive,

 

         Click on File|Open|Navigate to and select (click on) the DB to open

         Click the down Arrow next to Open and select Open Exclusive

 

You must have Administer permissions and/or be a member of the Admins group in the workgroup information file that helped protect the database.

 

Grant full permissions to the Users group and the Admin user account.

 

         Click on Tools|Security|User Groups and Permissions

         Click Permissions tab, if necessary

         Click check bullet for Groups

         Click User/Group Name: Users

 

For each Object Type:

 

 

         Click check bullet for Users

         Click User/Group Name: Admin

 

For each Object Type:

 

 

         Click OK

 

Put the Admin user back in the Admins group and remove the password from the Admin user.

 

         Click on Tools|Security|User & Group Accounts

         Click on Users tab

         Select User Name: Admin

         Click Available Groups: Admins

         Click Add>> [Leave the 'Users' group in the Members of: list for Admin]

         Click Clear Password

         Click OK

 

You will not be prompted for a logon ID and password once the password is removed from the Admin user.

 

Optionally, you can also run the Security Wizard again to transfer ownership of all objects back to the Admin user, but the wizard will also remove permissions from the Users group, which you may not want.